Pakistan’s Test Team Announced for Sri Lanka Tour

Pakistan’s Test Team Announced for Sri Lanka Tour

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 16-player squad for the upcoming two-match Test series against Sri Lanka, which will be Pakistan’s first assignment in the third cycle of the ICC World Test Championship. The series will start in July and the itinerary will be announced by Sri Lanka Cricket soon.

The squad features fast bowler Shaheen Afridi, who has recovered from an injury that kept him out of Pakistan’s home season. Shaheen is one wicket away from reaching 100 Test wickets and has been Pakistan’s leading bowler since his debut in 2018.

The squad also includes two uncapped players: batter Mohammad Huraira and all-rounder Aamir Jamal. Huraira was the top scorer in the last two editions of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, while Jamal was impressed with his performances on the tour of Zimbabwe last month.

The squad has four spinners, four fast bowlers, six specialist batters, and two keeper-batters. The selection committee has taken into account the conditions that Pakistan will encounter in Sri Lanka, where spin is expected to play a major role.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka last played a Test series in July 2022, which ended in a 1-1 draw. Pakistan will assemble in Karachi on July 3 for a camp before leaving for Sri Lanka on July 9.

Pakistan squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi and Shan Masood